Summer 2019 Basque Student Program

Share your Home, Build Connections,

Make Friends Abroad

In June 2019, New England Language Academy is welcoming a group of 12 Basque students to Vermont for a language immersion and cultural exchange. This program was established over 15 years ago between a Basque summer camp and Vermont schools, and Vermont families have hosted over 70 students since its beginnings.  The mission of the program is to promote cross-cultural appreciation and understanding, while giving Basque students the chance to improve their language skills in English.

Basque teenagers ranging from 15 to 17 years old who attended the English summer camp in Basque country can apply to come to Vermont to get to know another culture by living with a local family. Students are selected based on their motivation and interest towards this opportunity, and are paired with families who review their application. During their stay, the Basque students participate in all the regular family activities, and accompany the family members to sports, arts, and other social engagements.

We are looking for families with children or teenagers interested in hosting one students for 20 days from the last week of June to mid-July 2019. A stipend of $500 is awarded to participating families.

For more information or to apply, please contact:

Brigitte Savard learn@nelacademy.com (802) 552-0330


 

IMG-20180730-WA0016_2.jpg
IMG-20190102-WA0283 (1).jpg
Screenshot_20190214-232553.jpg

Hello,

My name is Irene, i'm 17 years old and i live in a small city called Vitoria-Gasteiz, in the Basque Country. I live here with my mum, my dad and my brother. His name is Aimar and he is 13 years old. I am very comfortable with them and even though on our daily life we don't do much together, i like spending time with them and going on holidays or just going out for a walk.

I am studying arts at first of bachiller and although i don't love studying i enjoy what i'm doing. After school i play volleyball and i go to a language school to study english. In my free time i enjoy meeting my friends to go for example to the cinema or just to hangh out. When i'm on my own, as most teenagers do i like watching films or series on Netflix, and listening to music and i also love reading, my favourite book is Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare. I love drawing and doing creative things and when i'm older i would like to work on the artistic field, for example i would love to be a tattoo artist.

On summer as i said before i like going on holidays with my family, but the thing i enjoy the most is going to my village, where i've got a lot of friends and i disconnect from the stressful lifestyle of the city. In my village i like going to the swimming pool with my friends, playing in the park, go riding my bike…

I would really like to go to Vermont, i feel i would learn a lot. Not only would i emprove my english, i feel like i would learn a lot from another culture and It would be very rewarding to spend time with new people, in another country… In adittion, i've never been outside Europe and It  would be very exciting to travel to the USA, to visit new places, to see how they live there…


Hello:

I’m Manex Azpitarte I’m 14 years old and I live in a town called Mungia in the

Basque Country. I live with my mom, dad and brother in a flat. I study in Mungia in a

school called Bentades. My favorite school subjects are geography and history.

Every day I go to my grandparen’s house and I eat with them. My relationship with

them is marvelous.  I speak 2 languages, Basque and Spanish and I would like to

improve my English.

My favorite sport is soccer and I play in my town club C.D. Mungia. I love going to

San Mames football pitch to see the club of my heart Athletic Club de Bilbao. I’m a

sporty person and I like practicing different kind of sports like cycling, soccer and

swimming. I like nature and I go to the mountain some weekends. I love animals and

spending time with them. In summer I go with my friends to Gorliz beach. It;s a very

beautiful beach and we have a great time there. We also go to the swimming pool. In

my family, we love travelling and every summer we go out of the Basque country to

different countries in Europe.  One of my hobbies is cooking meals and I sometimes

help my parents cooking. I also like playing computer games and I hang out every

weekend with my friends and we have a great time. Listening to Music is one of my

hobbies. I listen to music every day and different types.

I would like to go to Vermont because it will be a very good experience for me. I'm

sure that I am going to learn a lot of English. I like meeting new people and making

new friends. I want to go there to learn Vermont culture, traditions, dishes and visit

different cities.